Members of the Panel

Feierstein, Daniel
Director of the Centre for Genocide Studies at the Universidad Nacional de Tres de Febrero, Professor in the Faculty of Genocide at the University of Buenos Aires and a member of CONICET (Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Cientificas y Tecnicas, (The Argentine National Center for Scholars).


Halliday, Denis
Former Assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations. He resigned from his 34 year old career in the UN because of the economic sanctions imposed on Iraq by the Security Council. Laureate of the Gandhi International Peace Award.


Houtart, François (Chairperson)
Prof. Emeritus of Catholic University of Louvain ( Belgium),  a member of the UN Commission on  Reform of the Financial and Monetary System, Founding Member of the World Social Forum, Honorary Member of the Academy of Sciences of Vietnam and Cuba, Dr. h.c. of Notre Dame University (USA) and of the University of Havana (Cuba) and UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize Awardee for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence.

Lawlor, Mary
Director, Front Line, The International Foundation for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders, Dublin.


Martone, Francesco
An ex-Senator in Italy, a leading activist in the non-governmental sector and an ecologist.


Saadawi, Nawal al
Egyptian writer, trained as a medical doctor, known for her outstanding work for women’s rights in Egypt and in the region. She has been imprisoned for her activities and writings in Egypt. She has also been United Nation’s Advisor for the Women’s Programme in Africa (ECA) and Middle East (ECWA) from 1979 to 1980. She is a prolific author.


Sachar, Rajindar
Former Chief Justice, High Court of Delhi and the Chairperson of the Indian Prime Minister’s High Committee on the social, economic and educational status of the Muslim community in India. Former President, Peoples Union for Civil Liberties in India.


Sivaraksa, Sulak
Thai Buddhist peace campaigner and writer, initiator of a number of social, humanitarian, ecological and spiritual movements and organizations in Thailand and a laureate of  the Alternative Nobel Prize (Right Livelihood Award).


Tognoni, Gianni
Secretary General, Permanent People’s Tribunal, Rome.


Tveter, Øystein
A scholar of International Law and member of the People’s Tribunal on extra-judicial killings and violations of human rights in the Philippines.